Review: For One More Day by Mitch Albom

“And one day spent with someone you love can change everything.”

Cover: For One More Day
Title: For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Genre: Fiction, Inspirational, Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Pages: 197
Read: March 2016
Rating:
5-stars-small

the book | the author

For One More Day is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one?

divider

My thoughts:

This is the second Mitch Albom book that I read. The first was Tuesdays with Morrie, which I read last year. I shed liters of tears because of Tuesdays, so I kind of expected the same for this book. Boy, was I right.

The story tells of a man who attempted suicide but failed. He then gets to spend a day with his mother, who has been dead for years. Maybe now you’re thinking, how could that even be possible?! That’s what he thought too at first. But hey if you were given an extra day with your dead mother, who’s complaining? They spent the day together going to his mother’s appointments. They even ate meals in between. Why, his mother cooked, of course. He discovered things about their past the made him look at his life and his mother in a different light. As time passes, he realized how he took her for granted while she was still living.

Honestly, the very first thing I did when I finished this book was hug my mother and tell her how much I loved her. I would have done the same to my father but he was out of the house at that time. Hehe. I recommend this book to everyone,  especially those who fee distant from their loved ones and may be forgetting the value of family. One warning though: Tears. I’m not sure about this because I cry easily over almost anything.

But of course, you need not to read this book for me to tell you this: Everyday should be an opportunity for you to show the people you love that you care for them. Spend more time with you grandparents and cousins. Help your little brother with his homework. Tell your mother you love her. Hug your father. We can’t even begin to imagine all the things they did for us to be where we are now. Do not wait until it’s too late. Not everyone is given an extra day with their loved ones.

WordPress | Goodreads | Tumblr

3 comments

Leave a Reply

