Top 5 Wednesday: Intimidating Books

Hello woooorld! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey (but is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes) which features a different theme every week. You can visit the Goodreads group for the topics and other information.


This is my first T5W (yaaay!) and this week’s topic is books that you find intimidating. Most of the time, I am intimidated by books that are so huuuuge, because (1) they take long to read, and (2) they usually have small texts so there’s a lot to read in between turning the pages. Sometimes, the story and the things I hear about a certain book makes me think twice about reading it too.

Here’s my list:

T5W - 042016C

5. Magician by Raymond E. Feist
I started reading it back in the summer of 2010 and I already finished half of the book. I want to continue with it but I somehow forgot what’s happening with the story already. However, I can’t bring myself to reread it from the start because this book is awfully long – around 830 pages. Honestly, I really can’t imagine how I made it halfway through this book back then.

4. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
There was a time in my life when my friends were all like, “You must read this book, it’s beautiful.” I’ve read two John Green books (Paper Towns and An Abundance of Katherines) and they’re good but there’s just too many praises for TFIOS that I was afraid it may be overhyped or something. Plus, cancer and people dying! I just have the feeling that I would cry a bucket reading this. I’m still planning to read this maybe in the near future. Okay? Okay.

3. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
The whole A Song of Ice and Fire series, actually. I’ve watched the TV series, yes but I haven’t read the books. Yet. Perhaps what intimidates me is the amount of violence in the TV series (Killings! Blood! Death! More blood!) And based on what I’ve been reading, the books seems similar. I’ve been thinking about reading the books because I want to know more about what happened and what’s going to happen in the TV series but I don’t know if I my heart can take it.

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I’ve owned this book since 2014 but I haven’t had the heart to start reading it yet. I’m afraid I may not get the book or not enjoy it as much as other people do. But maybe I would’ve loved it also if I just open the book and start reading the first page. One day I’ll finally read it but for now it has to stay in my shelf with the other books I have yet to read.

1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
Les Miserables was recently in Manila so I wanted to try to read this book. Unlike most, I only know a little about the story (boo me). When I saw a copy at the bookstore, I realized that it was too complex and lengthy for me (dear, almost 1500 pages!) Maybe someday I’ll give this a shot, when time allows and when I’m more intellectually ready.

That’s it for me. What can you say about the books in this list? Have you read any of them?

WordPress | Goodreads | Tumblr

14 comments

  1. Seeing GoT on everyone’s list (even mine!) makes me now want to persevere and get into the series again! I really want to read The Book Thief but I watched the movie and I don’t know if that’ll ruin the reading experience.

    Danica @ A Redheaded Bookworm
    T5W

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I set myself up for complete failure when I read TFIOS. I got so sick of the hype so I went ahead and read it… I ended up disliking it so much that it turned me off from every John Green book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry that happened for you. It just sucks when one book from ruins your perception of an author and his works. I’ve only read two of John Green’s book so far and they’re okay but not enough to make me excited to read more from him.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The fault in our stars is a beautiful story and the book is actually more on the funny side than the sad side, you will be surprised! It is also quite inspirational, rather than intimidating. I am soon to do a review on this book as well as the movie, come visit my blog soon to check it out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen the movie yet because I want to read the book first. But yes, lately I’ve been thinking about finally reading the book. I’m looking forward to reading your review! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

