Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I’d Want to Meet

Hello woooorld! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey (but is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes) which features a different theme every week. You can visit the Goodreads group for the topics and other information.


The topic for this week: Authors You’d Want To Meet at Book Expo America & Bookcon. If you’re curious, this and this are the list of authors attending BEA and this is the list of authors attending Bookcon. I’m not attending both since I’m from the Philippines and they are too faaaaaaaar away. But here’s five authors I’d like to meet:

The first three authored books I hope to read and will be reading in the near future.

Marissa Meyer Cinder

Marissa Meyer, The Lunar Chronicles
I haven’t read any of her books yet. But Cinder is on my TBR and I’m gonna read it soon. Just now?? Yes, I know. 😦

Cassandra ClareThe Mortal InstrumentsThe Infernal DevicesThe Dark Artifices
I’ve heard of her from my friends and they sooooo loved her books. It’s all they talk abou all the time. I’ve been reading all about her too in my Reader, especially Lady Midnight.

Sherman Alexie.jpg The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Sherman Alexie, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian
His book has been in my TBR for a while too and hopefully I’ll be able to read it this year.

The next two, I was just browsing through the list of authors in the link above and they somehow intrigued me.

Eugenia Cheng.jpg How to Bake Pi

Eugenia ChengHow To Bake Pi
If there’s anything I love more than books and reading, it’s math and numbers! That’s why I looove reading books about math or contain math stuff. This is the first time I heard of her but I sure want to try to read this book.

Arthur Benjamin.jpg The Magic of Math

Arthur Benjamin, The Magic of Math
I didn’t even knew he had a book and I thought he looked familiar when I saw him in the list. I first came across this guy when I watched his Ted video. It’s called mathemagic! He’s multiplying very large numbers using on the spot with only his mind! I mean, how do you do that, sir? Teach me po.

Just an addition, although I believe I didn’t see their name in both lists, I certainly would love to meet Rick Riordan because I’ve been in love with mythology since I was a child and you can imagine my joy when this author published books on mythology and of course JK Rowling because, well, Harry Potter!

This week’s topic made me realize I don’t know most of the authors and I should go and read more recent books. Hahaha.

Who are the authors you’d like to meet?

~Cara.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

