The Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: Flipped

Hello woooorld!! This is my second Friday 56 and this is the first time that I’ll do Book Beginnings with it.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted at Freda’s Voice. The rules:

• Grab a book, any book.
• Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
• Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
• Post it.
• Add the url of your post in the Linky back at her blog.


BB

Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Gilon at the Rose City Reader.

Here I’m going to feature the first line or sentence of a book. Because it’s fun to judge books by their opening words and according to Lemony Snicket, “a book’s first sentence can often tell you want sort of story your book contains.”


Flipped

This week’s book is Wendelin Van Draanen’s Flipped.

Flipped is a romance told in two voices. The first time Juli Baker saw Bryce Loski, she flipped. The first time Bryce saw Juli, he ran. That’s pretty much the pattern for these two neighbors until the eighth grade, when, just as Juli is realizing Bryce isn’t as wonderful as she thought, Bryce is starting to see that Juli is pretty amazing. How these two teens manage to see beyond the surface of things and come together makes for a comic and poignant romance.


The Beginning

All I’ve ever wanted is for Juli Baker to leave me alone. For her to back off — you know, just give me some space.

It all started the summer before second grade when our moving van pulled into her neighborhood. And since we’re now about done with the eighth grade, that, my friend, makes more than half a decade of strategic avoidance and social discomfort.

She didn’t just barge into my life. She barged and shoved and wedged her way into my life. Did we invite her to get into our moving van and start climbing all over boxes? No!

But that’s exactly what she did, taking over and showing off like only Juli Baker can.

The 56

Chet was pretty quiet after I told him the story, and when Mom brought us out sandwiches at lunchtime, we sat on the porch and ate without saying a word.Then he broke the silence by nodding across the street and saying, “I don’t know why he doesn’t just come out and say hello.”

“Who?” I asked, then looked across the street to where he’d nodded. The curtain in Bryce’s room moved quickly back into place, and I couldn’t help asking, “Bryce?”

“That’s the third time I’ve seen him watching.”

“Really?” My heart was fluttering about like a baby bird trying to fly.


The story is told in alternating POVs — Bryce’s and Juli’s. And it’s very nice that the Beginning and 56 were from different POVs. The Beginning narrates how the two first met and how they think of each other. You know, Bryce being intimidated by Juli so he just runs away from her. The 56 (from 56% of the e-book), on the other hand, shows how Juli actually feels and thinks about Bryce, especially when she discovered that he has been watching her.

I remember enjoying this book around 1 or 2 years ago. It is a good read about love and growing up and I loved the transformations of the characters all through out the book.

That’s it for this week. Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? Did you like the Beginning and the 56? 🙂

Cara

12 comments

  1. Hi Cara, I’ve actually never heard of the book before (but that’s not unusual for me). Wow…it’s hard to choose a favorite between your BBOF and F56, but the beginning of the book made me snicker. :O)

    Here’s my Friday 56 et al.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have never read of it, too until I saw it was on sale at the bookstore. Hehe. It is a good read, though. Thank you for reading, I will check your link! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

