Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: My Sister’s Grave

Hello wooorld!! Yes, I’m posting Friday stuff on a not-Friday day.

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted at Freda’s Voice. The rules:

• Grab a book, any book.
• Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
• Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
• Post it.
• Add the url of your post in the Linky back at her blog.


BB

Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Gilon at the Rose City Reader.

Here I’m going to feature the first line or sentence of a book. Because it’s fun to judge books by their opening words and according to Lemony Snicket, “a book’s first sentence can often tell you want sort of story your book contains.”


My Sister's Grave

Our book for today is My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni.

Tracy Crosswhite has spent twenty years questioning the facts surrounding her sister Sarah’s disappearance and the murder trial that followed. She doesn’t believe that Edmund House—a convicted rapist and the man condemned for Sarah’s murder—is the guilty party. Motivated by the opportunity to obtain real justice, Tracy became a homicide detective with the Seattle PD and dedicated her life to tracking down killers.

When Sarah’s remains are finally discovered near their hometown in the northern Cascade mountains of Washington State, Tracy is determined to get the answers she’s been seeking. As she searches for the real killer, she unearths dark, long-kept secrets that will forever change her relationship to her past—and open the door to deadly danger.


The Beginning

Her tactical instructor at the police academy liked to taunt them during early morning drills. “Sleep is overrated,” he’s say. “You will learn to do without.”

He’d lied.

Sleep was like sex. The less you had the more you craved it, and Tracy Crosswhite hadn’t had much of either lately.

The 56

“How are the kids?”

“My fourteen year-old is taller than me. Not a big accomplishment I know, but she takes great pleasure hovering over me.” If Rosa was five feet it was by the width of one of her blond hairs. “My eleven year old is starring in the school play. The Wizard of Oz.”

“She’s Dorothy?”

“Toto. She thinks she’s the star.” Tracy smiled. Rosa sat forward and gripped Tracy’s hand. “I’m very sorry, Tracy.”


I agree with the Beginning! We’re all craving for sleep, and we (I) badly needed it too! The 56 reminded me of the time during my pre-school days when I used to join in schools plays. 😀

My Sister’s Grave is the book I’m currently reading and my first murder mystery for me this year. I just stared with it today but I’m enjoying it so far!

That’s it for this week. Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? Did you like the Beginning and the 56?:)

sig

2 comments

Leave a Reply

