Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: A Walk to Remember

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted at Freda’s Voice. The rules:

• Grab a book, any book.
• Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
• Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
• Post it.
• Add the url of your post in the Linky back at her blog.


BB

Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Gilon at the Rose City Reader.

Here I’m going to feature the first line or sentence of a book. Because it’s fun to judge books by their opening words and according to Lemony Snicket, “a book’s first sentence can often tell you want sort of story your book contains.”


A Walk to Remember

Our book for today is A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks.

Every April, when the wind blows from the sea and mingles with the scent of lilacs, Landon Carter remembers his last year at Beaufort High. It was 1958, and Landon had already dated a girl or two. He even swore that he had once been in love. Certainly the last person in town he thought he’d fall for was Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of the town’s Baptist minister.

A quiet girl who always carried a Bible with her schoolbooks, Jamie seemed content living in a world apart from the other teens. She took care of her widowed father, rescued hurt animals, and helped out at the local orphanage. No boy had ever asked her out. Landon would never have dreamed of it.

Then a twist of fate made Jamie his partner for the homecoming dance, and Landon Carter’s life would never be the same. Being with Jamie would show him the depths of the human heart and lead him to a decision so stunning it would send him irrevocably on the road to manhood…

The Beginning

In 1958, Beaufort, North Carolina, which is located on the coast near MoreheadCity, was a place like many other small southern towns. It was the kind of place where the humidity rose so high in the summer that walking out to get the mail made a person feel as if he needed a shower, and kids walked around barefoot from April through October beneath oak trees draped in Spanish moss. People waved from their cars whenever they saw someone on the street whether they knew him or not, and the air smelled of pine, salt, and sea, a scent unique to the Carolinas.

The 56

“So,” Eric said with a mischievous grin on his face, “what are you going to do?”

I looked at him curiously. “What do you mean?” I asked.

“About the play, stupid. You gonna flub up your lines or something?”

I shook my head. “No.”

“You gonna knock the props over?” Everyone knew about the props.

“I hadn’t planned on it,” I answered stoically.

“You mean you’re going to do this thing straight up?”

I nodded. Thinking otherwise hadn’t even occurred to me.

He looked at me for a long time, as if he were seeing someone he’d never seen before.

“I guess you’re finally growing up, Landon,” he said at last. Coming from Eric, I wasn’t sure whether it was intended as a compliment.

Either way, though, I knew he was right.


A Walk to Remember is one of my favorite books. I cried a bucket when I read the book, and more when I watched the movie. The saddest part about this book is that someone borrowed my copy and it was never returned to me. I literally have no idea where it is now. 😥 Funny thing though, it is the only Nicholas Sparks book I have read (as far as I remember).

The Beginning describes Beaufort, California. The place where Jamie and Landon grew up and the setting of our story. The 56, is more interesting! It shows how Landon is changing from a careless teenager to a responsible person. His friend expected him to do something to interrupt the play he’s in but he hadn’t even thought of it. His character has really grown a lot in the books.

Have you read this book or watched the movie? If so, what did you think about it? Did you like the Beginning and the 56?:)

sig

16 comments

  1. Omg I love the movie adaptation of this book, it’s like the saddest film I saw when I was younger. I haven’t read the book yet but I think it’s actually the only Sparks book I want to read! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

  2. I haven’t read the book, but I saw the movie. In fact, mostly I’ve seen movies based on Sparks’ books.

    I did read two Sparks books at the end of 2010 and the beginning of 2011, when I got my first Kindle: Safe Haven and The Wedding. I was participating in a Sparks Challenge.

    I think Message in a Bottle was my favorite movie based on his novels.

    Thanks for sharing, and here’s mine: “WILDE LAKE”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Walk to Remember is the only book I’ve read by Sparks and the only I’ve watched that is based from his books. What did you think of the two books you’ve read? 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

