Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names (AKA Names of My Future Children)

T5W

Hello woooorld! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey (but is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes) which features a different theme every week. You can visit the Goodreads group for the topics and other information.


This week, we’re going to talk about my Favorite Character Names! I find this topic difficult because there’s just too many to choose from, I can’t possibly come up with only a list of five.

You see, whenever a character name catches my attention, I add that name right away to the list of potential names for my future children. Now, I have a list of around a hundred names, and no child. (No rush though hahaha)

To limit our search space, I decided to list only some of my favorite names in the Harry Potter world! AKA some of the potential names of my future children (or cats, or dogs).

HP.png

Is it cheating if I list 5 male and 5 female names separately? Nah, I don’t think so. Hehe. Here they are:


Aidan

Aidan Lynch was the Seeker of the Irish National Quidditch Team during the 1994 Quidditch World Cup.

Appeared: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire


Cyprian

Cyprian Youdle was a Quidditch referee from Norfolk. He was killed in 1357 while refereeing a Quidditch match between the locals. Cyprian is one of the wizards featured in Chocolate Frog Cards.

Mentioned: Quidditch Through the Ages


Darren

Darren O’Hare was the Keeper of the Kenmare Kestrels from 1947 to 1960. He captained the Irish National Quidditch team three times, and is credited with the invention of the Chaser Hawkshead Attacking Formation.

Mentioned: Quidditch Through the Ages


Louis

Louis Weasley, brother of Dominique and Victoire Weasley, (huhuhu I love their names too) is the youngest son of Bill Weasley and Fleur Delacour.

Mentioned: JK Rowling: A Year in the Life


Lysander

Lysander Scamander is one of Luna Lovegood and Rolf Scamader’s twins.

Mentioned: JK Rowling: A Year in the Life


Beatrix

Beatrix Bloxam wrote a series of children’s books called The Toadstool Tales. She also appears in one of the Chocolate Frog Cards.

Mentioned: The Tales of Beedle the Bard


Cassandra

Cassandra Trelawney is the great-great-grandmother of the Hogwarts Divination teacher Sybill Trelawney.

Mentioned: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Cassandra Vablastky is a Seer as well and in the author of Unfogging the Future, the Hogwarts Divination textbook. She also has a Chocolate Frog Card.

Mentioned: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban


Leanne

Leanne was a Hufflepuff student in Hogwarts and is Katie Bell’s friend. She was with Katie when Katie was cursed by the opal necklace. She’s also a member of the Dumbledore’s Army and didn’t die during the Battle of Hogwarts.

Appeared: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince


Luna

Luna Lovegood, enough said.

Appeared: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows


Mirabella

Mirabella Plunkett was a witch who fell in love with a merman. After she was forbidden to marry him, she transfigured herself into a haddock and was never seen again. She has a Chocolate Frog Card. But I sure hope my daughter doesn’t share the same fate.


Almost all of these are names of minor minor characters, or those that were just briefly mentioned in passing. But what can I do, their names are pretty? Hermione’s name didn’t appear in this list but, but I’m actually planning on using her second name Jean as my daughter’s name. 😀

So.. that’s it!

What are your favorite character names? 🙂

sig

15 comments

  1. Beatrix may be my favorite among all these names. 🙂 The name that I’m planning to give my daughter in the future though is Jean Louise, from To Kill A Mockingbird 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

