Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted at Freda’s Voice. The rules:

• Grab a book, any book.
• Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
• Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
• Post it.
• Add the url of your post in the Linky back at her blog.


BB

Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Gilon at the Rose City Reader.

Here I’m going to feature the first line or sentence of a book. Because it’s fun to judge books by their opening words and according to Lemony Snicket, “a book’s first sentence can often tell you want sort of story your book contains.”


Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes

This week’s book is Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes by Denise Grover Swank.

For Rose Gardner, working at the DMV on a Friday afternoon is bad enough, even before she sees a vision of herself dead. She’s had plenty of visions, usually boring ones like someone’s toilet overflowing, but she’s never seen one of herself before. When her overbearing momma winds up murdered on her sofa instead of her, two things are certain: There isn’t enough hydrogen peroxide in the state of Arkansas to get that stain out— and Rose is the prime suspect.

Rose realizes she’s wasted twenty-four years of living and makes a list on the back of a Walmart receipt: twenty-eight things she wants to accomplish before her vision comes true. She’s well on her way with the help of her next-door neighbor Joe, who has no trouble teaching Rose the rules of drinking, but he won’t help with number fifteen— do more with a man. Joe’s new to town, but it doesn’t take a vision for Rose to realize he’s got plenty secrets of his own.

Somebody thinks Rose has something they want, and they’ll do anything to get it. Her house is broken into, someone else she knows is murdered, and suddenly dying a virgin in the Fenton County jail isn’t her biggest worry after all.


The Beginning:

It all started when I saw myself dead.

Rain hung heavy in the air that Friday afternoon. The air conditioning of the old municipal building didn’t know how to handle it, making the office especially chilly. I’d just returned from lunch and grabbed my worn red sweater out of my drawer as I sat down at my workstation. The fluorescent lights flickered overhead, casting a sickly gray pallor over the room.

I sucked in a breath to prepare myself for the next few hours. All that rain was bound to ruin a lot of Memorial Day weekend plans, making the DMV customers even crabbier than their usual.

The 56:

I stood up, my blood boiling with rage. “The right time? And who got to decide that? If Momma hadn’t been killed, neither one of us would know right now.” I shouted, “Our entire lives are a lie! We had a right to know!”

“You’re right, Rose. You had every right, but it wasn’t my place to tell you.”

“Wasn’t your place to tell? So you just watched her abuse me, us, and no one says a word because it’s not the right time? Did you know she used to lock me in a closet? I would pound on the door, screaming and begging her to let me out. Violet would stand outside the door, crying and pleading to Momma to let me out, but Momma would hit her and tell her it had nothin’ to do with her. We lived through hell. If that wasn’t the right time, when was?” My tirade left me shaky and lightheaded, but my outrage remained, simmering in resentment.


I haven’t actually read this book yet, I got it from Amazon as a free Kindle e-book. But it sure sounds interesting. What do you think? 🙂

sig

15 comments

  1. I got this one for review from Crooked Lane books and really enjoyed it. I also read 29 and 30 and have 31 through 34 on TBR mountain. Come see what book I chose this week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have this one on my kindle – and the other books in the series too – she’s a local author for me but I just haven’t had the time to dive into the books yet – I have friends who have read them though and they liked them. Here’s my Friday meme

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope to read this one soon and I think I’ll like it too. Your book this week sounds interesting as well, and that doctor from the 56 sounds as mysterious as it gets. Happy reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

