June Wrap-Up

June is finally over and it’s time for another wrap-up! 🙂

div4

Books read

My Sister’s Grave (Tracy Crosswhite #1) by Robert Dugoni
4-stars-small || Despite having watched a lot of murder/mystery movies and TV shows, this turned out to be the first book for me in its genre. I loved everything from the characters, the plot, revelations, and the pace of the story. Tracy’s relationship with Sarah made me wish I had a sister, too. And Dan during the trial reminded me of Annalise Keating in the courtroom. It was too intense, I couldn’t put the book down. I finished it earlier than I thought I would. || Full review coming soon.

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins
3-stars-small || When I read this I expected a super light, fluffy, and sweet love story. Well, I got that plus some drama; there was more drama than I really expected. I didn’t actually like Anna very much but the other characters were interesting, too. Overall, I didn’t love the book but I didn’t hate it too. 🙂 || Will post a longer review later.

Spy on History: Mary Bowser and the Civil War Spy Ring by Enigma Alberti
4-stars-small || I enjoyed this more than I should have for a book that is targeted to an audience generally younger than me. It is about a Union spy during the American Civil War, whose name is – you guessed it right – Mary Bowser and her life as a spy. What’s cool about this book, is that the readers are supposed to solve another mystery altogether! You have to look for clues, read between the lines, and decipher a series of codes to discover where Mary hid her spy diary. I’m always interested in codes and ciphers and mysteries, so it was plus plus plus points for me. I have yet to solve the final puzzle but I believe I’m cloooooose. :))) || Full review coming soon.

Si Janus Silang at ang Tiyanak ng Tabon & Si Janus Silang at ang Labanang Manananggal-Mambabarang (Janus Silang #1 & #2) ni Edgar Calabia Samar
5-stars-small || I gave 5 stars to both books! Ever since Percy Jackson, I’ve been wanting to read books on Philippine mythology and folklore. I loved how these creatures we were told about since we were children, the tiyanak, manananggal and other beings were portrayed in the modern world of computers and video games. I can go on listing other reasons why I love this series but I’ll save them for the actual reviews. 😀 || Full reviews coming soon.

div4

Challenge Updates

RCJune

Goodreads Reading Challenge

Status: 37/35

I’m done with this challenge, yaaay! It’s only halfway through the year but I’m not thinking of extending my goal to a higher number. It’s just set a higher goal next year. 😀

Popsugar Reading Challenge

5. A book set in your home state || Si Janus Silang at ang Labanang Manananggal-Mambabarang ni Edgar Calabia Samar
8. A book set in Europe || Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
27. A murder mystery || My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni

Status: 8/40

Still 1/5 done, and it’s already the 2nd half of the year. Will I ever be able to keep up? *sigh*

Click here to view all my reading challenges.

div4

June Book Haul

So it’s my birthday this month and people give me books by default, hence the (un)expected book haul. Normally, I don’t buy more than 2 books this month. But here they are! I’m attaching the covers instead of actual photos because I lack the necessary photography skills for that. Hihi.

~ The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins ~ Si Janus Silang at ang Tiyanak ng Tabon ni Edgar Calabia Samar ~ Cinder by Marissa Meyer ~ Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray ~ Si Janus Silang at ang Labanang Manananggal-Mambabarang ni Edgar Calabia Samar ~

Plus, I also got a gift card from Fully Booked! But I haven’t spent that yet because I can’t decide which book to buy. Oh, the struggle!

div4

July TBR

I haven’t come up with a to-read list for July yet. But it doesn’t matter, because I’m so bad at following them anyway. ✌

div4

Other Stuff

Reviews || You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan

Top 5 Wednesday || Favorite Names AKA Names of My Future Children

The Friday 56 & Book Beginnings || A Walk to Remember || Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes || Qualify

Quote of the Week || 007: And, when you want something, the… || 008: What you see or hear depends… || 009: You don’t love someone because they’re…

Awards || The Liebster Award || Real Neat Blog Award

Others || Happy 2 Months!!! || A Year in the Life of a Little Bookworm

div4

That’s it for my June wrap-up.

How about you, how was your June? 🙂

sig

Goodreads || Twitter

5 comments

  1. If you liked the secondary characters in Anna and the French Kiss, then you should definitely continue on with the “series.” My favorite was the third—Isla and the Happily Ever After.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

