The Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. The rules:

• Grab a book, any book.
• Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
• Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
• Post it.
• Add the URL of your post in the Linky back at her blog.


BB

Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Gilon at the Rose City Reader.

Here I’m going to feature the first line or sentence of a book. Because it’s fun to judge books by their opening words and according to Lemony Snicket, “a book’s first sentence can often tell you what sort of story your book contains.”

divider

zenn-diagram

This week’s book is Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant.

MATH GENIUS. FREAK OF NATURE. LONER.

Eva Walker has literally one friend – if you don’t count her quadruplet three-year-old siblings – and it’s not even because she’s a math nerd. No, Eva is a loner out of necessity, because everyone and everything around her is an emotional minefield. All she has to do is touch someone, or their shirt, or their cell phone, and she can read all their secrets, their insecurities, their fears.

Sure, Eva’s “gift” comes in handy when she’s tutoring math and she can learn where people are struggling just be touching their calculators. For the most part, though, it’s safer to keep her hands to herself. Until she meets six-foot-three, cute-without-trying Zenn Bennett, who makes that nearly impossible.

Zenn’s jacket gives Eva such a dark and violent vision that you’d think not touching him would be easy. But sometimes you have to take a risk…

divider

The Beginning:

I hold Josh’s TI-84 in my left hand, press a few buttons just for show and wait for the vision to come.

The TI-84 is my favorite lower-end calculator. Not many teenagers have a favorite calculator, much less a favorite calculator in different price ranges, but I’m super cool like that. My dream calculator is the TI-Nspire CX CAS Handheld graphing calculator with full-color display. I year for it the way some girls my age might obsess over a cute pair of boots.

The 56:

“I know, right? It’s ugly as sin, ironically.”

He nods and gives me a sideways smile. “It’s pretty baaaaad.”

Oh, my God. Did he just make a sheep joke? I laugh, trying not to be too obvious about how much I love that. We stand for a moment in post-awkward-joke silence, glancing alternately at our feet and the hideous van. I’m just grateful that he doesn’t ask why I’m driving a church van in the first place.

“Well,” I say, slamming the door shut. “I should let ewe get back to work.”

Zenn looks at me, a sparkle in his eye telling me he’s quick enough to get my joke, and goofy enough to appreciate it. “Right.”

divider

I already read this one and I liked it! Will be posting a review soooon! Did you like the beginning and the excerpt from page 56? 🙂

sig

 

Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr

11 comments

    1. Yep, it’s like having to wear gloves all the time or just simply avoiding to touch basically anything that isn’t yours! Thanks for reading and sharing your post! 🙂

      Like

    1. Now that you said it, I kind of miss my calculator, too. I used it from 3rd year of high school until my last year of college (6 years!!) but I barely use it anymore now that I graduated. Hehe.

      Have a great a weekend! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

