Halloween Read-a-thon Sign-up and October TBR (sort of)!

Hallo, world! Today, I am thrilled to announce that I will be joining a read-a-thon! This is my first, so clearly, I am veeeery excited!!! The Halloween Read-A-Thon is hosted by Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews. Most of these books have been sitting on my shelf for too long now, so I also saw this as an opportunity to finally knock off some titles from my TBR list.

BUT I am also an eternally scared person so this is a kind of a torture for me? Nah, I’m doing it anyway.

divider2

halloween-readathon.jpg

Halloween Read-A-Thon Details:

💀 The read-a-thon is going to run from the 10th October – 31st October.  

💀 You can join in at any time until the end of the read-a-thon. 

💀 You can read as many or as little books as you want!!!

💀 The books HAVE to be horror, thriller and/or have some kind of supernatural element!!

💀 When posting your TBR link back to her post so other people can join in!! Share the spooky love!! If you don’t have a blog that’s okay!! You can post your TBR on Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads, YouTube – ANYWHERE!!

💀 Use the hashtag #HalloweenWR to share your progress on social media!!

Make sure to visit her post for more information!

divider2

I’m not really the kind of person who makes a monthly TBR because I won’t be able to stick to it anyway, but here is the list of books I’m going to read for this read-a-thon’s challenges and their respective synopsis. You can also click on the covers to view their Goodreads page.

costume-party

9460487

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I chose this book because I bought it two years ago and I still haven’t read it. (Booo, Caraa!) But I’m on a mission to read those unread books now, I promise!

And not only the cover is creepy, there are a lot more creepy photographs inside. Eeeeek!

 

haunted-house.png

32058448

31st by Cindy Dela Cruz

I picked up this book from last month’s Manila International Book Fair because (1) it’s by a local author (2) it involves beings from the Philippine folklore, and witches too! Honestly, I’ve been obsessed with reading books on our folklore lately because of the Janus Silang series! Also, this looks like a fairly short read but I honestly don’t know what to expect because of the lack of reviews in its Goodreads page. I hope I enjoy it, though.

 

urban-legends.png

The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I got this book as a birthday present last year, and like most books on my shelf is still unread. (See, I’m being a good girl by finally reading them now.) When I first heard about this, I badly wanted to read the book but now, it seems that the Goodreads reactions are mixed so I don’t know what to expect anymore. I think I’ll just read it and see for myself!

 

witching-hour1.png

13597728

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

This is pretty much easy for me since before bedtime is really the best time for me to read.

Yet another book with creepy photos! Just so you know, I’m the kind of person who’s easily scared, so, seriously, what am I doing with myself?

With the genre of these books, I hope I can still sleep after reading!

scarymovie.png

Full disclaimer, I’m not really a fan of horror movies because I scare easily. For this one, it is imperative that I watch with someone*, or else I’m not sure if people would be able to talk to me for days after. Okay, so for this challenge, I will be watching The Autopsy of Jane Doe. I refuse to include the movie poster in my post because it totally creeps me out. I just watched a trailer moments ago and my heart is still not back to its normal beating pattern. My brother already watched this movie, but he has no choice, he has to watch this with me.

You can watch the movie trailer below but I highly recommend to do so without your earphones on, thank you very much.

*That someone will serve as my shield when I don’t want to look at the screen, and someone to pinch (or punch) maybe when things in the movie go too intense for me.

 

trick-or-treat.png

32571395

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

For this challenge, I’ll be taking the ‘treat’ option. I’m not sure if One of Us is Lying can be considered a scary book, but at least it’s mystery, close enough! Haha. I’m actually planning to read it this month so great timing! 😀

 

read7books.png

HAHAHA Oh my god, I hope I achieve this, though. In addition to the five books above, I still have two more books to read to complete this challenge. I still haven’t decided on those two books but I would really love it if you’ll help me out!

divider2

I would really appreciate recommendations from you, please comment below horror/thriller books that you think I should read this October!

love-cara

13 comments

  1. Ahh I’m so honoured that my readathon is going to be your first! So happy you’re joining in 😀 Great TBR!! I loved Miss Peregrine’s and Asylum. 31st sounds so interesting!! And that trailed for The Autopsy of Jane Doe looks super creepy. Definitely going to add it to my to-watch list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh, I haven’t read anything by him yet but I think my aunt has some Dan Brown books lying around the house. Hehe. Which of his books do you recommend the most?

      Like

      1. Yaay! I’ll check if my aunt has those. If not… well, I’ll find a way. Haha. Thanks!! And it’s nice to talk to you again ❤

        Like

      2. It’s nice to talk to you again as well, it’s been a while. I would be surprised if your aunt doesn’t have The DaVinci Code, it’s Dan Brown’s most well known book.

        Like

      3. Yep, I was inactive here for some months back 😦 I just checked and true enough, she has The Da Vinci Code! I guess I’ll start with that one. I’ll let you know when I read it! 😀

        Like

      4. I’ve been somewhat inactive the past few months. Like, I’ve still been blogging but not nearly as much as I would like. Hey, sometimes life and other stuff happens and it’s hard to find the balance.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

