A Month in the Life of a Little Bookworm: October 2017 + Halloween Readathon Wrap-up!

Hello, world and fellow bookworms!

October is over and it’s time for another one of our monthly wrap-ups again! Ahhh, where do I start? I believe my October is waaaaay better than September. I joined my first ever readathon, and though I read fewer books this month, I enjoyed most of them. I also posted four book reviews, which is better than what I initially planned. I fell on a minor reading slump at the later part of the month, but it was because I started watching a series that I now love very much. No worries, though, because I’m still on track with my Goodreads reading challenge! And the most exciting of all – I won giveaways and went to watch a play adaptation of one of my favorite series!

Halloween Readathon

halloween-readathon

Like I mentioned, Lauren’s Halloween Readathon was my first and I enjoyed it. A. Lot. Normally, I’m not the one to prefer to read my horror/thriller books when I had the choice so this is a great way to pick some unread books on my shelf in the genre. Click here to view my complete TBR.

✅ Costume Party: Read a book with a creepy cover – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
✅ Haunted House: Read a supernatural or paranormal book – 31st
☠ Urban Legends: Read a horror or thriller book – The Girl on the Train
✅ Witching Hour: Read a book after sunset – Asylum
✅ Scary Movie: Watch a horror or thriller movie – The Autopsy of Jane Doe
✅ Trick or Treat: Free choice of any genre – One of Us Is Lying
☠ All Hallows Eve: Read seven books

I was able to read everything on my original TBR except for The Girl on the Train. I was also set to read the rest of the Asylum series but I only got halfway through the second book when the readathon ended.

Sadly, I wasn’t able to complete all the challenges but it was a really fun experience – except for the movie part. I think my eyes were closed for most of the part hahaha.

Thank you very much, Lauren, for organizing this readathon and I hope you’re doing well now. 🙂

Book reviews

Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Batacan || ⭐⭐⭐⭐
I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter || ⭐⭐⭐⭐
31st by Cindy dela Cruz || ⭐⭐
The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr || ⭐⭐⭐⭐

On the blog

Aside from book reviews, here are my other posts this month:

📝 38th MIBF Book Haul!
📝 A Month in the Life of a Little Bookworm: September 2017
📝 Halloween Read-a-thon Sign-up and October TBR!
📝 WWW Wednesday, 10/11/17!
📝 The Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: Smaller and Smaller Circles
📝 Halloween Readathon Updates!

Books read

I was able to read six books this month, four of them are for the Halloween Readathon. You can view my reviews for the first three by following the links above!

Out of these six, my favorite is One Of Us Is Lying! I literally couldn’t put the book down so I finished it in a day! On a weekday. When I was supposed to be working. But I worked on the weekend after so I think that canceled out? You can view my initial review on Goodreads but I will update that and write a proper review here on the blog. Huhuhu the book (and Nate) is really great, guys! You should read it too, ASAP!

goodreads-challenge-2017-2.png

And again, I’m still ahead of schedule for my Goodreads challenge, after being x books behind a month ago, yaaaay!

At this rate, I hope to finish the challenge by the end of November. *cross fingers*

I won giveaways!!

I am really excited to share this because the only type of giveaways I seem to have luck with are the ones where my college org used to raffle off extra KFC meals during or GAs and events. Hahaha.

I almost never win book giveaways. Except for this month, when I won not one, but two! I won one of the author giveaways in the recent YA Scavenger Hunt and got Ballad of the Beanstalk by Amy McNulty. Thank you very much, Amy!

Just this week, I won a copy of Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer! The prize pack also includes a Heart of Mist map and three prequels! Oh my, this must really be my lucky month. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and I’m very excited to read it! Actually, I’ve already read one of the prequels and can’t wait to read the rest.

Thank you very much, Shealea and Helen for this! To be honest, Shealea is very vocal about her love for this book that I was going to buy a copy if I didn’t win the giveaway! Hehe. You should check out her post: 10 reasons to pick up Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer!

New books!!!

I recently shared that I only let myself buy books during the Manila International Book Fair every September. But I recently realized that with all the great books coming out, this would be next to impossible. So I decided to change my rule a little bit:

I can only buy physical books during the MIBF but I can buy Kindle editions of books I badly want to read all year round, especially #romanceclass ones. I don’t really know what I’m trying to achieve here, but maybe a fake sense of control over my book spending or something. Hahaha.

That said, I recently bought Like Nobody’s Watching by Tara Frejas and Ghost of a Feeling by Celestine Trinidad.

Story time! I was okay with my old rule until I read Like Nobody’s Watching‘s first chapter, really. Because I was wary to link my personal bank account to Amazon, I decided to set up a PayMaya account. I spent the evening trying to figure out how it should work and when I finally did… To my horror, their option to transfer load from your bank account to your PayMaya account was down at that time. I was out the whole morning trying to find any of PayMaya’s load partners so I can finally buy my book but I was unable to find one. I even went as far as the last baranggay in our town but I can’t seem to find any loading partner. 😦 It was only until that evening when a friend offered to try at the 7/11 branch near him. And it finally worked! I was able to buy Like Nobody’s Watching on its release day, yaaay! So that’s the story of how I struggled for a day to load up my PayMaya account… just for the sole purpose of buying #romanceclass books. Hahaha.

#JanusSilangTA

Last October 21, I watched Tanghalang Ateneo’s Si Janus Silang at ang Labanang Manananggal-Mambabarang. The play features the second book of the Janus Silang series by Edgar Calabia Samar, one of my favorites. They already made an adaptation of the first book last February and I loved it, so I decided to watch this one, too.

And ahhh, I loved it more than the first one! This time, I was sitting in the first row so I was very close to the actors during the play. They took the small space of a theater and transformed it to bring us to an old house in Angono, the busy streets of Intramuros, and the mystical Kalibutan, a world we may not know is co-existing with ours. I loved everything about it, especially how the actors seem to be perfect for their roles.

You can click the tweet to view more photos with the cast! 💕

You can also check out Tanghalang Ateneo’s Facebook page to know more about them!

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

And this. This is the reason why I wasn’t able to read much during the last weeks of October. I recently started watching Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.! I started less than two weeks ago and I’m already in the 3rd season. Hehe. I hope to finish the 4th season before the 5th starts this December and so I can stop binge-watching and actually do the things I’m supposed to do. Is there anyone else who loves this show, too? I love FitzSimmons!

November plans

As of now, I still don’t have concrete plans for November but I’m looking forward to all read the books mentioned above. There’s also a backlog of book reviews that I have to write and I think I can finally get to some of them this month.

And oh, maybe early Christimas shopping!

divider

Phew. I didn’t even realize my October was so eventful until I spent the whole afternoon writing this post! I hope your month was as awesome as mine and November be even better!

love-cara

 

 

 
You can also find me on Goodreads, Twitter (@littlemsbookwrm) and Tumblr.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

